Log in


Register Now!
WSTMA Winter Education Conference

Click Here To Register!


Click on Company Logo for more info.

Best Management Practices

BMP Customizable.docx

Winter Education Conference
& Annual Meeting

February 22nd & 23rd

Wilderness Resort, Wisconsin Dells
You are in for a wide array of education to help you manage your fields and facilities!

Wednesday, February 22nd 3:00 p.m.
Best Practices for Sustainable Winter Salting      Allison Madison, Wisconsin Salt Wise
While not Turf related, here in Wisconsin, 95% of our turf managers also have
the responsibility of snow/ice management. The buzz for reducing salt pollution from winter management practices is growing. Coupled with increased expectations for reducing salt damage, learn about safe, efficient practices and walk away with action steps for implementation and tools to educate staff and customers.
Networking Event 6:00 p.m.
We want to give you the opportunity to Network with peers, Commercial Partners, and the Board. We know that industry connections aren’t always forged on the Conference floor, so join us for free food and liquid refreshments and whatever transpires.
Thursday February 23rd
7:45    WSTMA Annual Meeting   Josh Viet WSTMA President
8:15    Irrigation Troubleshooting
Brad Jakubowski Professor of Plant Sciences, Penn State University
Watering problems can make or break your turf management abilities. Be prepared and know your irrigation system>

9:15    Time with Commercial Partners

10:00 University of Wisconsin Education and Research
The UW Professors and their Student researchers will present information and research results pertinent to Sports turf and your management of your playing surfaces.
Dr. Paul Koch Group

Turf Apprenticeship Program Overview

Improved Detection of Summer Patch

Dr. Ming-Yi Chou The Sports Turf Microbiome   

Dr Doug Soldat Group
WSTMA TAP Scholarship Announcements
Research updates Wetting agents, grass selection, etc.,
Resource use efficiency and Best Management Practices
Britta Welsh Clover and How Management Decisions Affect Weed Populations

12:15 "Making Better Weather-Based Management Decisions"
Brad Jakubowski, Professor of Plant Sciences Penn State University.

Weather, easily the most important factor in decision making for our day-to-day turf management duties. We can’t change the weather but having a better understanding of it can help our turf and our budgets.
1:15 Commercial Partner Presentations
We realize the wealth of knowledge our Commercial Partners are and want to give them the opportunity to show you just a snippet of that. We asked them to take a subject relevant to their business and give us a presentation about that.
Here is our lineup so far:

“Amending Ag-lime fields.”

Site One…” Precision Turf Management”
Insight FS…” Effects of Water Quality on Herbicide Efficacy”

Cost: Members…$65.00
         Guests from Members Facility…$75.00

A block of discounted rooms is available at the Wilderness Resort for the event.
(800) 867-WILD
Block Code “Leader #986012”

Do you have a piece of equipment you want to sell OR looking for something?
Join us on our Member Forum to list it!
Do you have a Field Management issue our a topic you want to discuss with your peers?
Follow the Link Below
Member Forum

Questions can be directed to Michael Krupke, Chapter Manager,

How the WSTMA Can Help

The WSTMA is dedicated to advancing the safety, playability, and appearance of athletic fields at all levels through seminars, field days, publications, and networking with other professionals in the sports turf industry throughout Wisconsin and beyond.

Member Grants & Scholarships

News from the
National STMA

 The single goal of our more than 2,600 members is to manage sports field playing surfaces to the safest level possible. The national Sports Turf Managers Association is offering free access to all their educational resources. Just sign up as a new visitor.

This site is developed and maintained on behalf of the Wisconsin Sports Turf Managers Association.
2020 Copyright WSTMA. All rights reserved. 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software